Life and Times Blog

SUB *conscious*

It’s a popular term: Subconscious.
It’s a freaky concept.Sub (under) Conscious (awareness).

It’s almost an oxymoron. If something is BELOW our consciousness, how can it ever be a part of it. We can’t be held responsible for it. Does it even exist until it manifests itself? If it doesn’t, then at the point it manifests itself is the point at which it becomes consciousness.
This isn’t mere semantics, I’m basing it on the way I use the term, and have heard the term used.

I just find it very unsettling that my mind is off doing things without letting me know about it, leaving me to deal with its consequences without being either responsible for its roots, or aware of its remedy.

I wish it would just speak up, let itself be known. (or do I SUB—-CONSCIOUSLY want it to remain elusive, so I can always wonder? I wonder….)
I think the concept is a tidy to way to explain away our shortcomings. I like it.

I Googled it, to make sure I wasn’t making any obvious, stupid error in this, which I am prone to do, more than prone, predisposed even. (see theres my subconscious, subconsciously I WANT to make stupid errors to validate this claim of my clumsiness, and to invite comment)
Old Freud seemed to agree that it was abused:

“If someone talks of subconsciousness, I cannot tell whether he means the term topographically — to indicate something lying in the mind beneath consciousness — or qualitatively — to indicate another consciousness, a subterranean one, as it were. He is probably not clear about any of it. The only trustworthy antithesis is between conscious and unconscious.”

So when I make errors, or realise too late the things I want or need, or don’t, I can just fall back and pin it on a reason related to poor communication from the sub-conscious.

But what if it DOES exist, and it IS real, then its of key importance that I knock that damn door down and access it before future mistakes, delays.

This isn’t a psych essay, I don’t know where dreams come from (answer to Shafinaaz).

There’s definately something beyond our immediate perception, something internal, but it sure is a major bummer if its so important yet remains hidden.

August 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Ok I cannot remember if I asked you that in a practical sense or a metaphysical one. Do you know where dreams come from?

    Think of the Sub-Con as a data collector that takes in all experiences that we (perceive to) have and collects them for a time. This is the good, the bad and the ugly. It is also the obvious, the not so obvious, and the realm beyond what is tangible and conscious. (conscious has a limit to what it can deal with, eg trauma or potential trauma) And theories come up here regards to instinct, gut feeling, butterflies, de ja vu, intuition, psychic tendencies, and actual dreams. We can get into the whole tapping into dreams for spiritual guidance and all that and it links back to the ever watchful subconscious.
    While consciousness is like the child on the playground, enjoying whats obvious and tangible (ego), the superego is watching over everything and revealing only if necessary. so u can say its activated if its needed for survival in most of us. and to visionary, mystics and the like, it is more developed and relied on for connecting with the non-tangible, unseen world. Im not gna edit this post. Read and disagree at will 😛

    Comment by shafs | August 10, 2009 | Reply

    • I know where dreams come from…but my answer has nothing to do with the subconscious and is deeply imbedded in Islamic studies which are too intricate and diverse to explain here. Mail me if you want to know more.

      The subconscious does exist…and a percentage of our dreams do come from the subconscious’ perceptions…geez 4 years of Psych and I can’t remember the term now. All I know is that it is a minor percentage. Freud was right in only certain instances.

      In my studies, I found and have come to believe that one can control the subconscious through psychological training of sorts, which involves a constant awareness of every thought/action/process/ etc.

      I’ve done extensive studies on both the scientific explainations and spiritual aspects of the mind in relation to dreams etc.
      I just have too much to say on this, so I’ll stop here.

      Comment by Azra | August 10, 2009 | Reply

    • Would appreciate knowing about the Islamic Perceptive(s) of the sub-conscious – Could the word “HEART” in arabic also refer to the sub conscious? – afzarl@gmail.com

      Comment by Afzal Cader | August 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Shafinaaz, thats actually a reassuring view, that it isn’t depriving us of the necessary, rather it blocks us from the irrelevant and brings it up when relevant.
    But people do refer to it when relating to something that may be hampering them due it being in their “subconscious”.

    Azra, i’m DEFINATELY mailing you for more! I want to know EVERYTHING about this.

    Comment by zubairhabib | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. With regard to dreams, Anwar Al-Awlaki did an audio series on it which explains the 3 kinds of dreams, and a lot more info on it, as well as the Islamic view of dreams. He uses a book attributed to a scholar called Ibn Sereen – which i saw the other day in a bookshop. It’s worth looking into if you’re interested. But for me personally, i wouldn’t get too much into dream interpretation – because i prefer to regard dreams as something precious which i don’t want to analyze too much.

    You can buy that audio series if u can find it – but i’ve never seen it in this country. You can download it at: http://www.kalamullah.com/anwar-alawlaki.html

    (Don’t worry about copyright infrignement. They tell me they have permission to put it up. Obviously, though, you can’t sell it or make a profit from it.)

    Comment by Dreamlife | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Excellent blogpost, good looking website, added it to my favs!

    Comment by PawMotattag | November 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

