Life and Times Blog

TIME 100

Time Magazine does a list of the top 100 people “who most affect our lives” every year. I’ve been reading those lists for too many years. Since I was 15. At 15 you haven’t yet failed Financial Accounting, or filled out a blank timesheet. Or realised that you should-have to pay your taxes. So naturally I used to read those lists with aspiration. These days, I just read them with appreciation.

Of COURSE the list is shallow, USA biased, not only in terms of the candidates, but the criteria and motivations too. Of COURSE it doesn’t MEAN much, and ignores very real problems.

But the people on those lists are interesting.

I’ve picked a few from this year’s list that I found quite cool, and will add a caption about why I thought so in posts to come.

This list is like listening to TED talks, gets you starry-eyed for just slightly longer than it usually takes you to find some other article/web link to switch to.

Much more entertaining than the list, is Joel Stein’s editorial in the same edition on the least influential 100 people in the world: http://mzan.si/59OW

July 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. i quite enjoyed the ‘least influential list’

    Comment by ayesha | July 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment